Faculty

Keith Beck
Professor
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
keith_beck@ncsu.edu
Analytical (NIR, HPLC) aspects of Polymer & Color Chemistry. Real-time data acquisition in dyeing processes by FIA and SIA; textile applications of L and SC carbon dioxide.

 

 

 

people-rbaynes

Ronald Baynes
Professor Pharmacology and Risk Assessment
Department: Population Health and Pathobiology
919.513.6261
ronald_baynes@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM Main Building D-343
Pharmacology and Risk Assessment

 

 

people-mbreen

Matthew Breen
Professor of Genomics
Department: Molecular and Biomedical Sciences
919.513.1467
matthew_breen@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM Research Building 348
Genomics

 

 

people-ael-shafei

Ahmed El-Shafei
Assistant Professor
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
919-515-6548
ahmed_el-shafei@ncsu.edu
Room: Textiles 3119
Forensic analytical chemistry, Functional Dyes, Plasma-induced graft polymerization

 

 

 

people-sfaith

Seth Faith
Assistant Professor of Forensics
Department: Molecular Biomedical Sciences
919-513-8099
safaith@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM
DNA forensics, utilizing powerful new technologies, such as next-generation sequencing and advanced bioinformatics. The mission of the Faith lab is to advance forensic science through applied research using an integrated approach within the University and with external partners in industry and government.

 

 

people-kferris

Kelli Ferris
Assistant Professor, General Surgery
Department: Clinical Sciences
919.513.3418
kelli_ferris@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM
Director, Community-Campus Partnership

 

 

people-rgorga

Russell Gorga
Associate Professor
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
919-515-6553
regorga@ncsu.edu
Room: Textiles 3304
Nanosciences, Surface Modification, Fibers and Polymers

 

 

 

 

people-dhinks

David Hinks
Cone Mills Professor of Textile Chemistry
Dean, College of Textiles
Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
919-515-6554
david_hinks@ncsu.edu
Room: Textiles 3248
Forensic analytical chemistry, color science and chemistry, environmental chemistry.

 

 

chelsey-ann-juarezChelsey Ann Juarez
Assistant Professor
Department: Sociology and Anthropology
cajuarez@ncsu.edu
Room: 1911 Building 254
Isotopes, Forensic Anthropology, Skeletal Biology, paleopathology, Human Rights, Immigration, Mexico, Latino Diaspora

 

 

 

people-gknight

Gary Knight
Adjunct Lecturer
Forensic Photographer
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
gdknight@ncsu.edu
Room: Textiles 3250
Teaches forensic science with an emphasis on photography methods

 

 

 

people-jlevine

Jay Levine
Professor
Epidemiology and Public Health
Department: Population Health and Pathobiology
919-513-6397
Jay_Levine@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM Main Building B-340
Ecosystem health, epidemiology, Biosurveillance, Food safety of molluscan shellfish product

 

Steve-Michielsen

Dr. Stephen Michielsen
Professor
Director of Professional Development of Graduate Scholars
Department: TECS
919-515-1414
Stephen_Michielsen@ncsu.edu
College of Textiles – Room 3333

 

people-dmuddiman

David Muddiman
Professor
Director, W.M. Keck FT-ICR Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
Department: Chemistry
919-513-0084
david_muddiman@ncsu.edu
Room: Cox 608
Analytical Chemistry, High Performance Mass Spectrometry, Separation Science, Bioinformatics, Novel Ionization Methods, Imaging

people-boliverBilly Oliver
Adjunct Associate Professor
Department: Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
919-624-6521 (cell)
bloliver@ncsu.edu
Room: Textiles 3250
Teaches forensic science with an emphasis on archaeology methods
people-moliver-hoyoMaria Oliver-Hoyo
Professor of Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
919-515-2212
maria_oliver@ncsu.edu
Room: Dabney Hall 635 A
Teaches forensic science with an emphasis on chemical identification methods, and chemical separation techniques.

 

 

people-rrodman

Robert Rodman
Professor
Department: Computer Science
919-515-7480
rodman AT ncsu.edu
Room: EB II 2314
Computational Forensic Linguistics: The use of computers as related to the interface between language, the law and crime, e.g. audio analysis of criminal exemplars (bomb threats, etc.) including speaker identification.

 

 

people-aross

Ann Ross
Professor
Director, Forensic Sciences Institute
Department: Biological Sciences
919-515-3122
ann_ross@ncsu.edu
Room: 140 David Clark Labs
Forensic Anthropology, skeletal biology, human rights

 

 

people-bsherman

Barbara Sherman
Clinical Professor, Veterinary Behavior
Department: Clinical Sciences
919-513-6141
barbara_sherman@ncsu.edu
Room: CVM
Clinical evaluation of protocols for the treatment of behavior problems of dogs and cats; Clinical behavioral pharmacology; identification and attenuation of canine fears and anxieties; behavioral selection criteria for military working dogs, feline cognition

Dr. Nelson Vinueza
Assistant Professor
Department: TECS
919-515-6558
nrvinuez@ncsu.edu
College of Textiles – Room 3120

 

people-wwatson

Wes Watson
Professor of Entomology
Department Director of Graduate Programs
Department: Entomology
919-513-2028
wes_watson@ncsu.edu
Room: Grinnells Laboratory 1108
Medical and Veterinary Entomology

 

people-wwolfram

Walt Wolfram
William C. Friday Distinguished Professor of English
Department: English
919-515-4151
walt_wolfram at ncsu dot edu
Room: Tompkins 208
Language variation, Ethnic dialects of American English, African American English, Dialect recesssion, Dialect awareness and education, Dialect and the public interest, including Forensic Linguistics

 

people-myoung

R. Michael Young
Professor of Computer Science
Department: Computer Science
919-513-3038
young@csc.ncsu.edu
Room: EB2 2258
Games-based training, learning and collaborative environments, virtual crime scenes, intelligent storytelling technologies